1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Aug. 19, 2018 - 21:09

I mean, I’m not like an expert on cities or anything, and I’ve spent the entirety of these last two days in Chicago in Lakeview/Boystown/Wrigleyville, so it’s not like I know anything about Chicago, but I do declare it’s the most unpretentious big city I’ve been in and I super like it so much. The air feels so good. What a great place! A town needs a lake.

Also, I’m no expert on air shows, having only seen my first today, but I’m kind of an expert now, and so I can conclude that at least half the draw is that air shows are fucking terrifying, right? And that disaster is just so close, right?

So I got to see the thing that happens when a jet breaks the sound barrier and the vapor builds up or whatever, got to see it two or three times, and the first time the jet flew right over my head right before it happened and scared the everliving bejeebus out of me. It was louder than the loudest loud you’ve ever heard. The second time I managed to maintain my composure and was able to record it. The third time I was again unprepared but was able to see the red hot glowing jet thing. Anyway, jesus, now I’m watching youtube videos of jets breaking the sound barrier and it’s terrifying/awesome just watching the videos.

This is the vacation I needed, I think.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019