1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Friday, Sept. 01, 2017 - 11:23

------

UTMB! Kilian Jornet, man - you can't help but be a fan, right? The only woman I really know anything about is Caroline Chaverot, and that's just from her ridiculous race at the Hardrock 100 this year. I love them both. I like following these big ultras. Not that I often do - really just when someone I know is running, which is not the case this year - so I don't know anything about the ultra world, but I've enjoyed following the UTMB for a few years, and Hardrock was super rad, so I followed UTMB again this year.

------

The puppy picked another fight with a cat this morning. The cat left its claw in the puppy's head. The puppy deserved it. Hope it doesn't abcess, though.

-----

I didn't get up in time to say goodbye to the puppy's roommate before he left yesterday morning. Which made me feel mighty sorry for myself. And he doesn't have cell service during the day now so we can't text. So I could be crying and throwing tantrums, but I haven't done either, and Im pretty pleased by how adultly I am behaving this week.

-----

This has been a weird and extreme summer, after a weird and extreme winter. I don't remember it ever being like this. Every year I flip out because summer ends suddenly with darkness and rain, end of August - bam, just like that - but this year it's not doing that. The forecast for at least the next 10 days is more of the same: hot and dry. And windy. Not good for fires.

This year the spring was slow and cold. My garden was a month or even two months behind where it had been the year before. And look at it now - it's been a great year for the garden, best I've had so far, actually. All those hot nights. I'm successfully growing watermelons. It weirded me out a couple years ago to have strawberries through the first week of November but maybe that's the way it's going to be now.

At first you can brush things off - the smoke is annoying but it's from some fire off somewhere way over there. But then there's a column of smoke to the northeast as well, and another over to the west, and that's one due north of us, and it would appear we are surrounded, and... these fires are getting bigger, they're not getting smaller, and a big enough fire can create its own weather, and two weeks ago there was a 30,000 foot high pyrocumulus cloud shooting up into the sky, menacingly, just 10-15 miles from here. I took pictures but the pictures don't capture it. 'menacing' really is the right word. At some point it goes from distant to scary to terrifying.

Well, if we're gonna be having awful fire seasons every other year now, with two months of nonstop smoke, maybe property prices will start going down.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019