1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Friday, May. 08, 2015 - 17:15

It's windy, it got very windy last night. We've got these late-blooming tulips right now that are lovely, pink-tipped and white, red with yellow innards, purple and star-shaped. Last year we had shit for tulips!

These days the puppy is doing all his pooping in the front corner of the yard, which has reduced the frequency at which I step in it considerably. I've stepped in his dog poo so many times. His roommate says he's only stepped in it two times in the last two years, but whatever, I suspect him to be a teller of tall tales.

It was said by a couple people during the homebuyer education class that buying a house is a surprisingly emotional experience and I think I can go one step further. Or 10 steps further. Going to a homebuyer education class is a surprisingly emotional experience. I am emotional about it because I want what I have, our place is perfect, I don't want to move away, and thinking about all this has me afraid that it will all be ending.

Things from Wednesday night are sinking in and are less horrific but more awful. Or the other way around, I'm not sure. I am exhausted but I know I've gotten a lot more sleep than other people have. My role is to be supportive as much as I can without being a death/tragedy groupie. That means taking care of things around the house and providing the right mix of diversion and consolation. I could also, like, buy a bread basket or something. Or put a tulip in a Coke bottle. Or see if the puppy's roommate wants to chop down the weeping pussywillow that died in the blizzard last spring and put my little apple serviceberry in its place. And if he doesn't, no worries, not important. Luckily the puppy is always down for being cute or hilarious, always a topic of conversation.

For some stupid reason I signed up for three races tomorrow morning. In previous years I was always completely spent after them, but this year if I'm feeling okay I may go run another 5-7 miles after them. Sunday morning I'm meeting my BRFs to go back and up over the hills - wildflowers are blooming spectacularly now. Running there from home and back I'll probably get... maybe 15 miles or so. If I get 15 both days that would be a 30-mile weekend which would be fine, a bit of a rest, and next weekend is definitely a rest weekend. Then I'll get my two 40s (if all goes well) and that'll be that.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019