1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

running, fingernails
Friday, Apr. 25, 2014 - 21:39

It's not like there's nothing to do but I've been all caught up in tracking a friend who's been running around Mount Fuji today, 105 miles. These races are interesting, so multi-national, interviews conducted in many languages, French, English, Japanese. And so long - they run overnight, there are checkpoints miles and miles away from each other, so much happens in between the checkpoints. You follow your runner, he comes into a checkpoint at 16th place, he leaves before someone else so now he's in 15th place, and then the next checkpoint an hour later he comes in at 11th place. These long races are so different from shorter ones, even from 50 milers. 100 miles, you run through the night, the leaders are 30 or even 90 minutes away from each other.

I have no desire to do a 100 but I do want to do another 50, even a 100K, I could do that. One of the guys I met last year during the 50 has signed up for a 100. I think it is crazy, but it's cool. It takes a lot of mental fortitude. I miss the rigor of training for a 50 but I'm really enjoying not doing that this year.

Fingernail polish for the race this weekend: dark shimmery purple. I think it's much better suited to a longer distance than a 5K, but we'll see how it goes.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019