1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Friday, Jan. 06, 2012 - 13:48

I've started reading a book by Betty MacDonald - I don't know how I've missed all these incredible writers. I suppose I'm looking for careers to emulate. I'm a person, foremost, but also female, and women writers (women anything, really) often get overlooked. I am also reading - in addition to all the other books I'm reading - I'll tell you about them later - The Lonely Passion of Judith Hearne by Brian Moore, interesting in a whole nother way. I suspect I'll be doing a lot of reading in the coming days and weeks and months.

Sweetcheeks was asleep when I left this morning and I don't expect him to be there when I get home from work. If he is, I'll be pleasantly surprised, but his car was supposed to be done today and I think he's sick of sticking around. I know he could be talked into staying, I know he's stayed this long because of me, I know he's had a hard time leaving. I write in here all the time that I hope he'll stay but I don't tell him that - I'm not stopping him. I told him he doesn't have to go, I told him I want him to stay, I told him I like having him around - I told him once, he knows it, and that's all I can do. I'll miss him. He'll miss me and I don't want to make it any harder on him. Things need to change, he needs a change - if the change he makes is geographic, okay - I'll just hope that the world takes good care of him. This has gotten too angsty. Back to my book.

In real life her husband's name was Donald MacDonald! I like words.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019