1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Saturday, Dec. 04, 2010 - 10:28

Remember how, after I left a nine-year relationship, dropped out of grad school, and moved back in with my parents, I started working as a maid? I wonder if I ever wrote about my coworkers back then. Best job ever, still - I have nothing but fond memories of that time - so glad it all happened.

Anyway, the other week I saw one of those coworkers for the first time in about seven years, which has led to the discovery of the online cache of another old coworker. 'cache' brings with it an implication of secretness, which does not apply to this case as she seems to advertise it a lot. She posts pictures of herself every day in various states of dress and makes vlogs, etc. Back in those days, when we were all kids, she got engaged to a boy after about a month of dating - his parents urged caution, told them not to have sex (they were very young, 17 or 18) but they did anyway. They broke up around Thanksgiving, a few weeks after the engagement. She went to a community college the next year and called me a few times. I didn't recognize her in these videos and pictures she has online - she weighs a lot more than she did then. We were friends and I can't even remember how to pronounce her name. Strange. I think my memories of her are conflated with another person's. I think I remember things but I wonder how much I've forgotten. This is my life, and I can't even remember it.

What you came here for, though: last night at the show in attendance was not one but two brown-eyed boys. There was no drama or conflicts of loyalty, though, as my interactions with the two did not overlap. One has moved away and I was surprised and happy to see him. One is my #1, the bee's knees (or bees' knees, I don't know). One was traaaashed and could hardly talk. One picked me up from yoga the night before and drove me home the night before that. One left early and while we were saying goodbye our heads were very close and my face touched his soft cheek.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019