1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Oct. 17, 2010 - 22:18

Went on a bike ride today, the first official training for our big ride next year. We're not doing the ride across the state of Iowa - maybe I already told you this. No one would sign on, except me and my friend, and I figured it would be too expensive to get myself and a bike to Iowa and stuff like that. I wanted to get my dad to drive a support van, but everyone was surprisingly unexcited about the prospect.

So instead my friend and I are doing a slightly shorter ride that's closer to us and fully supported. We rode for two hours today and it's a good thing we're starting early. She's pretty inexperienced - as am I, really - so we know a lot more than we did this morning.

I need to get a new bike but I'm not quite sure yet what I want to get. A multi-day ride of a few hundred miles could get pretty uncomfortable, so I want to make sure I have a bike that I'll like for that. But I'll mostly be using it to toodle around town, and there's no need to get all crazy with money I don't have just for toodling around town. I'll aim lower right now, and then later - if I decide to start doing triathlons - for example, I can upgrade. I'll know a lot more about what I want then.

So in addition to a bike I also need tons of gear. All I have is running gear. I ordered a new helmet and some gloves today from REI - they are both blue and I am excited. I need the padded shorts.

Ran a 5K yesterday and I looked up the time from the 5K I did a year ago - sad. My pace this year is a minute slower than last year. But that can't be what I'm running for - I'm running for fun, and it was fun, so overall a good race.

Now to bed with my book.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019