1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

1 July 2010
Saturday, Jul. 03, 2010 - 12:47

9:46 AM 7/1/2010

July the first. Terrible hair day. Last night I went to bed with wet hair. It works out sometimes. It used to work out all the time. But it didn't work out at all this time. Half of my hair was over on the wrong side of my head, the other half was just sticking out.

I slept all night and woke up at 5 a.m. for a few minutes, I think, after dreaming about something. I might have even started awake. I might have gone right back to sleep. I might have woken up again at 6 a.m. Alarm 6:45, I got out of bed a minute or two after 7, only to look in the mirror and see my hair.

I couldn't find the coffee filters. I wandered around, I fed the cat and the fish, I put on some clothes. Last night after my shower I discovered that, while I had managed to pack my clothes for work this morning, I'd neglected to consider underwear for the night. I could have worn the one pair I'd packed but then, you know, I'd have had to wear the same pair to work. So I put on my nightshorts and nightshirt and pants and a sweatshirt and managed to keep my eyes open long enough to do some internetting, long enough for my hair to dry a little, dry enough for me to think I'd wake up to perfection.

I found the coffee filters, found a coffee cup, listened to the news on the radio - the bad news - looked at the internet some more. Got stuff together, went out to my car, went back inside for my phone, left for work. Drove through my new neighborhood, parked. Walked. Walked down greeny shaded streets that smell good, quiet in the morning, air warm enough to not need a jacket. Summer.

Tisks and tasks, things to do tonight, things to do to get out of town tomorrow. I was considering not going out to dinner tonight and going to Costco instead so that I can leave half an hour earlier tomorrow - but that would be cheating life. Dinner it is. Costco will be there tomorrow.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019