1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

I have a broken rib
Monday, Mar. 29, 2010 - 17:52

Tenth rib, right side, yup. Broken. I'm getting a copy of the x-rays, because I want them. Not that it makes any difference whether there's a broken rib or not, aside from healing time, but it is kind of gratifying. I heard a pop! My doctor didn't believe me but ha!

Now I guess I need to compose an email to send to everyone I was in contact with while I was contagious. It will say this: Hi, I've been sick with pertussis for the past month. It's one horrible, violent mother of a disease - you do not want it, and you do not want to pass it on to anyone else. Most adults don't get the acute whooping cough that I got - most adults who contract pertussis will feel like they've just got another cold. But even if they're not coughing, adults can pass pertussis on to children, and it can be fatal to children. I was probably contagious the last two weeks of February, before I even started coughing. The incubation period is a couple weeks. If you haven't gotten sick yet, you probably won't (from me). If you are sick, ask them to check you for pertussis. Regardless, go get a pertussis booster shot. The rib you save could be your own.

...

I will probably be socially ostracized for the rest of the year.

My doctor told me I need to start running again. Glad. (I won't tell my boss that, though - I'll just tell her my rib is broken. Maybe I'll stay home a few more days.) Will have to lay off the bar fights for 6 weeks though.

Tired and starving now. Need to figure out how to use this steamer thing.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019