1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

stereo, lost things, squirrel horror, tmi
Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009 - 13:41

I WENT A YEAR AND A HALF WITHOUT MY STEREO, HOW CAN I BE SO DUMB, SO SELF-PUNISHING. WHY. I avoided taking it in for so long because, in addition to the $$$, I was afraid they'd tell me it was irreparably damaged and I didn't want to hear that. But it's fixed! $92.50 and it's fixed! (For now, at least... we'll talk in 91 days after the service warranty runs out.) Last night I set it all up, plugged in all the components and speakers and put on a record and the first bass hit almost made me want to cry. After listening to a 30-year-old stereo (however aesthetically pleasing it and its wood-encased speakers may be) - oh wowo.

AND THEN. I was telling my roommate how the tape deck in that old/new stereo doesn't work, and I put a tape in, and IT WORKED. And remember how the CD player in my car miraculously came back to life? Good, good.

Problems: I seem to have misplaced my lunch card, my coffee card, and my extra house key. Wherever they are, they are probably together, as they were all last seen in my bedroom on Wednesday night. Where would a smart girl put them? That's what I need to try to figure out.

Want to hear the grossest thing ever? Okay! Yesterday morning I saw a squirrel whose back half had been squashed, you know, half of it was pancaked and stuck to the road. But its front part was still okay AND STILL ALIVE. THIS POOR LITTLE SQUIRREL. Still trying to push itself up with its poor little arms, all it could do was sit there in Modified Plank Pose and hope to be rescued by a kind-hearted veterinarian. Instead, there was a crow ewww a crow was there and it was about to put the poor bastard squirrel out of its misery. The crow was all, "Yum, fresh!" and the squirrel was all, "Oh god." The crow knocked the squirrel's front living half over, but the poor little bastard squirrel pushed itself back up. I did not stop to watch but we can guess what happened. It kind of made me want to barf. There are too many squirrels here and they're not native and I kind of hate them etc., but if there's one thing I hate more than squirrels (and mountains and fishes) it's crows. Or ravens, same difference. BARF.

And then after my stomach had settled down a bit I went over to the market to get some coffee (where I discovered... no coffee card!) but I was waylaid by a low-talker who told me too many details about his surgery for colon cancer. TERRIBLE MORNING.

This afternoon I am at a coffee shop downtown, where I'm supposed to be working on an abstract for the conference in August... due Monday! (I have not started.)

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019