1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

boring, then fun
Monday, Apr. 28, 2008 - 20:52

Today work was not super busy - maybe it was supposed to be super busy but I wasn't super busy because I've decided I'm not going to be there next year so what the crap do I care if the files are complete or not - the poor bastard who's the new me will have to deal with it next year.

I am probably the boringest person ever these days, because all I really want to write about is how I want to go to bed early tonight, and how I'm going to ice my shin before I do, and how excited I am for the race this weekend, and how my official times for Saturday's races were SLOWER THAN THE TIMES ON MY WATCH. FIVE SECONDS SLOWER FOR THE 10K AND THE 5K AND FINE, THAT'S FINE, WHATEVER, BUT FOR THE 1 MILE THEY HAD ME 12 SECONDS SLOWER THAN MY WATCH SAID I WAS. 12 SECONDS! 12! THAT'S A BIG DEAL.

But to keep this entry from being so boring, here's some super fun things that I wrote at work on April 8 and never posted. Be prepared for FUN:

You know how in The Future we will all be wired with internal computers in our heads? I can't wait.

The other day I found myself making a joke about lexical aspect - you know that woman who got stuck to her toilet after sitting on it for two years? She was just trying to demonstrate the atelicity of 'sit'. Ha! (Or similar, but still, get it? The atelicity of 'sit'? Ha!) 'sit' is an activity? I could never remember those goddamn things. 'sit' is an activity and has no end point - except that it does. What we can take from that poor woman's bizarre story is that 'sit', in fact, must have an end point. 'sit' must be telic. Was this discussed to death on linguistlist? I don't read that and don't want to, sorry.

Anyway, the reason I was making jokes about lexical aspect was that the day before I found myself in a conversation about grammatical aspect, and then I started thinking about grammatical aspect and lexical aspect, etc. Things like this happen too often, unfortunately.

Yesterday I saw two male ducks waddling around quacking together and I think they must have been gay. Duck quacks are about the funniest thing. Sheep are also funny - sheep and ducks tie for funniest thing.

Other things that are the funniest: this kid

this kid (I ♥ him)

FUN, HUH? NOW I'M GOING TO BED GOODNIGHT.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019