1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

The sky got dark this afternoon, a whiteout mass of snowflakes came down.
Monday, Dec. 17, 2007 - 17:22

Snow - it only appears when conditions are right. It falls silently, carried by the wind. It's special, like seahorses or rainbows or cougars. We never talk about why we like snow.

Christmas - Christmas lights, Christmas trees. It's dark out - we're celebrating the winter solstice, we're celebrating being inside. Even at my most devout (I was very religious in junior high) I never got the Jesus thing. Winter, snow.

They say no two snowflakes are alike. I think that's bullshit - how do they know? In my yard right now there are 50 gazillion snowflakes. I went for a walk and two thousand snowflakes got caught on my coat and hat. I didn't stop to count, I didn't stop to look at them - who's to say that no two snowflakes are alike? I think that's quasi-academic BS perpetrated by some arrogant asshole, the same type of jackal who says quite confidently that the Eskimos have 298 words for snow.

Of the 50 gazillion snowflakes in my yard right now, and the even larger number that have been in my yard over the past few thousand years, isn't it more than plausible that some of them were formed in conditions similar enough to yield identical snowflakes? Isn't it?

I couldn't sleep at all last night. Things weren't right. I was tossing and turning. Jumped out of bed, turned on the light, knocked over a glass of water. My feet itched, my ankles itched, my whole body itched. Jumped back into bed, it was the middle of the night. I heard the milkman at the door. I was tossing and turning, turning and tossing, tossing and turning all night. [saxophone solo]

I am making soup.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019