1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Saturday, boring, I missed most of the farmer's market
Saturday, Aug. 11, 2007 - 14:11

I obviously cannot handle freedom. We need some structure, kids, so it's back to this: I will meet you at the coffee shop tomorrow. Tomorrow MORNING, 10:00. This means, no staying in bed until 11. This means, no staying up until 3 a.m. watching movies and/or doing nothing.

One of the things that's working to unmotivate me is the knowledge that I'm going to have to ask my parents for some money anyway - so why get a job in August when I have just enough to pay my bills at the end of the month on my own, and if I get some money from my parents I'll be able to go another month without a job, and the jobs I've seen advertised aren't terribly exciting anyway (nine bucks an hour? for that?) and I want to go home for a couple weeks at the end of August and anyway, I can borrow money from my parents.

But that is no excuse for being the pathetic sack of shit I've turned into. I've known for a long time, when I have nothing to do, I do nothing.

So, structure.

Tomorrow we'll go to the coffee shop. I will read and write and look in the classifieds for jobs and apartments. You can do whatever you want. I will get an iced vanilla chai latte, maybe.

Monday I have a meeting at 12:30 about the nonprofit. Tuesday I am going out to lunch with a nice man I'm not attracted to. It might be very uncomfortable. It might not be, though.

Next Saturday is the next 5K, and I need to go on a few runs to get back into that. (It's a series of 5Ks, and in the overall standings I'm second in my age group. This is because one of the two people who always beat me didn't do the first race; if she had, I'd be third.)

I still haven't updated my resume, which frankly should take about 20 minutes at the most. I need to take those lame books back to the library. I need to take these three CDs back to the radio station. I need to write a thank you card to my adviser. Things like that.

Etc.

Etc.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019