1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

regarding running
Wednesday, Aug. 08, 2007 - 17:05

Remember how I ran a half marathon three weeks ago? And then the week after that I did a 5K? And then it was too hot and smokey and thesisy around here to go running at all, so I've kind of been enjoying a semi-retirement from running since that 5K? You know?

Except that there's nothing "enjoyable" about being fat and lazy and sitting on your ass all day, so when I say I've been "enjoying" a break from running, it really means I've been wallowing miserably in a world of stick-in-the-mud inactivity. It's been terrible.

Nothing was stopping me from going out for a run, of course, nothing but myself and the great god Inertia. I always felt too tired or too unmotivated. And my body felt heavy and immobile, and anyway I didn't have that half marathon looming on the horizon anymore. Sure I have a 5K next weekend but - pfff, 5K? That's nothing! I could run that blindfolded with a molasses-covered January baby on my back. And there's a 10K next month but still, 10K? Hardly anything. But hey, then there's a half marathon in October that I want to do, and I decided I wanted to train better for it than I did the first one, so, I took a couple weeks off but need to get going again, don't I?

So I entered that half marathon into my nikerunning.com schedule and it told me I had to go running last night so I did.

After a couple weeks of deadweight trudgery I thought it would be a really shitty run. It was, actually, but it wasn't as bad as I thought it would be and if I go tonight or tomorrow I'll be even better.

And that's all I have to say about that.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019