1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

It's a Sunday, and it's February 11. Where were you four years ago?
Sunday, Feb. 11, 2007 - 12:52

1. At the coffee shop. Once again it's packed to the gills. I realize, this being a college town, there are more people around when the semester is in session, but these aren't students, they're humans, and if I'd known they'd be populating this joint so densely I never would have started coming here. Why are they all here? Luckily I have my headphones and am not able to really hear the cackling of the two extremely animated women next to me. But even without the sound effects, they are obnoxious.

2. Started an account at nikerunning.com, even though I don't like Nike - it's so trendy to not be trendy, isn't it? - but they have training schedules! So I put in the two races I'm going to be doing in a few months, and it tells me how much I have to run and how many days. And it tracks other things, like how many miles you have on your shoes. Neato.

3. The Chinese Happy Pills came in the mail yesterday and I don't know why I didn't think about ordering them last semester when I was completely depressed. Now I'm not so depressed but am taking the Happy Pills anyway. I don't think my liver Qi is stagnated like it was, so I wonder what the effects will be.

4. Traditional Chinese medicine is fascinating and I think it would be really completely totally rad to enroll at Bastyr University and learn all about it, and I totally would, if I weren't so sick of school. Maybe that will be my next thing, after I do my celebratory trip to Australia (or wherever) after finishing this stupid degree.

5. But first I have to finish this stupid degree and I feel like I just got here and haven't had much time to settle in and if I finish in May oh my god what will I do. But also, my project is getting fun and interesting and I kind of secretly like it. Don't tell anyone.

6. After I leave the inexplicably crowded coffee shop I'm going to a running store to get new shoes.

7. I ran two miles yesterday and it was so crappy at first and I was disheartened. But then finally it got better, like the last half mile or so, and I could have gone further, but nikerunning.com told me I only had to do two miles yesterday, and I'm not an overachiever.

8. When I'm upset I write endlessly, miles of whining and crying and lamentation. When I'm not upset (which admittedly over the past four years (or more) has been rare) I don't. So I should make note that these days I'm pretty okay. Stressed out about some things (school), but mostly, pretty okay. And I got home Friday afternoon and thought, well crap, man, I get to do whatever I want now and I have the whole weekend, and I was pleased. I like having my own house. Although sometimes I wish I had a cat. I might get one this year. This would be a big step for me.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019