1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

International Genius Club meeting 1
Sunday, Jan. 14, 2007 - 13:56

I just got back, maybe you're still there.

We can do this 52 times in a year, or however many Sundays there are. We missed last Sunday, the first one, so let's say, 50 more times this year.

Go wherever you want, a coffee shop or diner or park bench. Just go.

I started thinking, I decided a long time ago that I don't go to church and the reasons we go to church - community, structure - are the reasons I'm doing this. Structure - two hours, or an hour, every week. Community - get me out into the world to sit there and observe and think. And then write about it.

This week's first discovery: cute boys. I wondered where they all went, they were here when I first moved here but then they disappeared when school started. Well they all go to the coffee shop on a Sunday.

(Spirituality - you don't find that in a church, which is one reason I don't go. I absorb spirituality by osmosis, I breathe it in through my nose, it flows through my veins and drips off my fingers and emits from me radioactively etc. I believe in everything except love which as we all know is just alcohol and a broken condom but everything else I believe in, etc.)

This week's second discovery: a brand new metaphor! It's a frozen river. A river, frozen over, keeps on moving underneath the ice. Underneath the ice. It's a metaphor and I am so deep.

I'm kidding.

What I'm trying to say is, I'm going to start going to coffee shops on Sunday mornings and you should too. It's time we did something like this.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019