1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Nov. 26, 2006 - 11:20

These days I do not write. I take notes. What I write is notes to myself. Someday I will compile the notes. Not now.

"Faith is to believe what you do not yet see; the reward for this faith is to see what you believe." St. Augustine, Sermons

This morning: Idea: Marathon, July. I have no interest in running a full marathon. But a half marathon, July. I will sign up. I'm signing up for a runners club here. I need a goal, something to get my mind out of my mind, get my head into the world. Get me through the winter.

Thanksgiving:

I could live in a place like this, my dad said. And who couldn't? Open floor plan, large living room/kitchen/dining room/family room. Office. Bedroom, perfect bathroom, laundry room, attached garage. Master bedroom, master bathroom, master shower, walk-in closet. Heat. Lighting. Carpet. Flatscreen TV. Fireplace, flip a switch and it's on.

What is life and what makes you happy.

Here is an American love story.

My grandpa and grandma met at a horserace. On a double date with her friend and his brother. Years later, after three kids, she - my grandmother, a city girl - got sick, very sick, and the doctors said they had to move to a drier climate. So they did. They left the farm and my grandpa, a farmer, a man who had lived and worked on a farm his entire life - 36 years - moved to a different state, a city, a small house on a street surrounded by other houses and he got a job working in a steel mill.

He worked at the steel mill and his kids grew up and he got some grandkids and a month after I his newest granddaughter was born he died, and my grandma got a pension from the steel mill for the rest of her life, 30 more years, until she died on a Monday evening in June.

And what did our grandparents work for? Our comfort? They worked for our comfort but is that what we want? Because I could be comfortable the rest of my life but that doesn't mean I'd be happy. Sleeping too much makes you way more tired than hardly sleeping at all. Ask me, I will tell you. Oh, getting up in the morning is sometimes the worst thing you can do and there's nothing better nothing more comfortable than staying in bed for a few more minutes or hours but there's nothing like it for giving you a headache, is there...

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019