1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Monday, Nov. 14, 2005 - 19:12

I have had the nicest month of concerts and it's Monday morning and I'm sitting at my desk feeling very satisfied because I just saw a list I wrote a month ago of upcoming shows I wanted to go to and by gum I went to all of them and more. And dagnabbit if they weren't all excellent. And dagnabbit if there aren't a bunch more shows coming up: tonight my roommate is playing in Fremont, this weekend is Kinski, fucking Kinski at the Crocodile on Saturday, as well as Rogue Wave and the Supersuckers both on Friday both at Neumo's, and then in a couple weeks Green Milk from the Planet Orange is playing - we saw them with Kinski at the Funhouse a few weeks ago - no we didn't see them we heard them and they were great - they were invisible (because they were sitting on the floor behind the masses of heads in between us) but great.

I missed Eric Johnson at Chop Suey on November 2! What was I doing that night probably nothing don't tell me. I also missed Pinback in July or June and I know I should have gone to that, I knew I should have but it was a Wednesday and I am a baby. And I missed Fruit Bats, Fruit Bats who I love dearly, yes I saw a bit of their instore performance and yes it was before I grew to love them or even know them at all but Fruit Bats! I missed them! Sigur Ros - oh things were tense with the cute boy and I should have gone alone, fuck that stupid desirable gender, the male.

There is a lot to do and there has been a lot to do and I haven't written about it because all I ever write is complaining. It has recently come to my attention that yes I do have a life here and this is it, and all of my whining and complaining is keeping me from, you know, not whining and complaining while this life is going on.

Did I ever write up a thing about my beautiful evening seeing Iron & Wine? Did I ever write about the Vells? (I didn't like them, I'm sorry, and I left early.) Did I write about the Master Musicians of Bukkake? Because that guy put the microphone in his man-cleavage and sang into it like that, and when will I ever see that again? The Teeth, I saw them and liked them and now I have their album and I'm very pleased with it. No-Fi Soul Rebellion, Shivaree - that was ages ago, two lifetimes ago at least - American Analog Set Bright Eyes Broken Social Scene recently, I've seen Bill Frisell twice, Pearl Jam, Modest Mouse (or as I recently heard them called 'Modified Mouse'), Shawn Smith, the Lucksmiths, MIA on the counter at Sonic Boom, the Wedding Present, Marbles.

I moved here last December and a few days after that I went to Key Arena to see a bunch of bands doing a radio Christmas show and I was embarrassed but it was the start of it all. After that show it was raining and it was the middle of the night and how the hell was I supposed to get home? And there have been a thousand nights like that since then, except now I know how to ride the buses.

I will be moving away but not for many months and until then there's all this stuff to do and I'll whine again tomorrow I'm sure but I wish I wouldn't because there's so many other things to do and so much time to fill, why fill it with whining?

And when I move away I will miss this like nothing else, I will sit there, somewhere, and think about this, right now, how I would sit at work, working on the same floor as my good friends, the cute boy who I sat next to and ignored and danced with, and all the stupid shit I've done and thought, and all the music I've heard.

I am ridiculous, I will miss this like nothing else. And then I will whine about it.

Sunday morning my roommates burst into my room a few hours after we all went to bed and a concert happened in my bedroom. I was already awake. Then we had banana and chocolate chip pancakes and coffee in the basement. (Obviously my life has been much less uncomfortable since moving, which adds a lot you know. And...)

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019