1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

I'm still doing crossword puzzles
Wednesday, Feb. 18, 2004 - 20:11

Right now I'm listening to a recording of a concert put on a year ago today by my favorite band in the world. I've been marking the anniversaries of those concerts for a little more than a week. Tonight is the seventh night of the tour, and the sixth show I went to.

It's a lot of music to absorb, too much to absorb.

A year ago tonight I was in Melbourne sitting behind two very tall people, one of whom was married to a guy who I thought was a drug dealer because practically everyone there knew him. He and the tall woman had a seven or eight or nine year old boy who went to sit with some girls who knew his drug dealer dad. His tall mom was standing intimately with a tall man who was either her brother or her secret lover. But if he was her secret lover I don't think it was so secret.

At the first show I sat by all these VIP people who weren't jumping or nodding their heads or even clapping. They were lame.

At my second show Eddie sang some of Beast of Burden during Wishlist, and he and Jeff thought it was hilarious.

At my third show I sat by all these very excited people who were all friends with each other.

At my fourth show I traded seats with a girl who wanted to sit by her boyfriend, and so I sat next to a guy named Brad who was from Wisconsin.

At my fifth show I saw a dead pigeon while I was standing in the security line. There was a lovely sunset over the building.

Before my sixth show, which would be tonight's show, I had a falafel or something on Swan Street.

At my seventh show I missed the first half of Johnny Marr's set, pissfuck.

I met Mike McCready before my eighth and final Australian show.

Oh, I shook Eddie's hand after tonight's show too.

I have to do all of this reminiscing with you tonight because good golly, we've been busier than a pissfuck at work. Why are all these people coming in the middle of the week? Don't they know that they're supposed to come for the weekend, not the week? They're crazy and wrong and we're really pissy busy. I usually get Wednesdays off but I had to work today. I worked ten hours on Monday and nine and a half on Sunday and eight and a half today and I don't even remember yesterday.

The people I work with are beginning to fight amongst themselves.

And guess what? Even though I've always tried to avoid getting sucked into "office politics" and all the stupid interpersonal drama... I have a problem with one of my coworkers. I don't like her and I always complain about her and talk about her. It's lame.

The Brazilians are leaving this week so I'm going to make some lemon bars.

It snowed a lot. I'm going skiing tomorrow, even though I'll probably wake up tomorrow morning and think that the last place on earth I want to be is that stupid mountain. But dammit, I'm going, because it's really good right now.

I want it to snow two more feet down here and then get all warm and springlike. But I want the two more feet of snow first.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019