1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

An entry that jumps from Pearl Jam to jobs to Australia to horses to jobs again, with some strange twisted imagery thrown in for laughs. I just woke up from a nap, so maybe that's why it's so weird.
Thursday, Jul. 10, 2003 - 18:18

Well, it's official. Pearl Jam has been declared the most awesome band in the world. And you're thinking that I made that declaration and so you're dismissing it because I'm biased, but haha on you, it wasn't me. It was some guy sitting at his computer somewhere probably on the east coast. He's probably fat, probably late 20s, probably spends all of his time at work surfing the internet. But it doesn't matter, it's the thought that counts.

The reason for this sudden declaration is at the show tomorrow night, which I happen to not be going to, because my run of shows is over, they are playing an extra one-hour set before Sleater-Kinney opens for them before their real set. They have like 110 songs in their "current repertoire" or whatever and they wanted to play all of them at their three Boston shows without repeating any, and so anyway they're doing that tomorrow in order to be able to play all of them.

And to the lucky assholes who'll be at that show, I'd just like to say: fuck you! and you better have a good time or I will kick you!

Why would I say 'fuck you' to them? Because I'm immature and I'm jealous of them, and this is a form of immature, misdirected aggression.

This is not just an entry about Pearl Jam. This is also the entry in which I inform everyone that I have left the ranks of the pathetic unemployed. I'm not entirely sure I'd have been considered officially unemployed, because I wasn't exactly looking for a job, although yes, I am pathetic. But anyway, on Tuesday at like 4:00 I went to this place to find out what I needed to do to start finding out about getting a job with them, and by 11:00 the next morning I had two jobs lined up.

This is like a temp agency. My jobs are temporary, which is good, because I'm leaving for Australia in SEVEN WEEKS and couldn't find a long-term job anyway, and also I'm all schizfrazzled or whatever and I don't want a career or a fucking computery think job or a fucking boring blah crap job, and so jumping from job to job sounds very fun and unboring to me.

Have I mentioned that I'm going to Australia again? I don't think I have. Maybe I have though, I don't know. I'll be volunteering on organic farms there, and maybe also volunteering at like good places like, you know, um, I don't know, homeless shelters or something. Or maybe not. I haven't really decided, or even looked into that. But the farms, yes. I'm hoping I get to ride horses.

I drove by some lovely shiny horses today. I thought about taking riding lessons this summer, but since I'm a working girl now it'll be harder. Also my beach time will be significantly reduced once I start working.

I have one more day of freedom.

I remember the first day of work at my first job when I was 16. It was horrible. Through the drive-through speaker I could hear the wild wild wind blowing outside and I felt like a caged animal. I wanted to be outside on that Sunday evening running in the wild wild wind with my wild unruly hair whipping around, my arms up in the air, my bare feet ... um, getting dirty... the imagery train I was riding on with that broke down. Suffice it to say, however, working sucked and I hated it. But then I got used to it. My wild wild spirit was broken by The Man and the Benjamins and... whatever. I just remember that first day.

Okay. That's all for today.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019