1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Complaints about job hunting, followed by sounds of exasperation
Thursday, May 8, 2003 - 15:59

Dear top secret online diary,

I wish I had a magic resume that would update itself. Mine hasn't been updated in about three years, maybe more. And now I'm applying for jobs, and a magic resume would really come in handy.

How am I supposed to remember all the dates and wages and crap for all the little jobs I've had over the years? I've had quite a few. And this application has a page for your "employment record" for the last 10 years, and they even want you to include periods of unemployment. 10 years? Do they really want to know about when I worked in a local hamburger joint in high school, making $4.85 an hour (I was a supervisor)? I started that 10 years ago. Attach additional sheets if necessary. I guess they really want to know about that. Do they? Arghh.

I wish someone would just see me walking down the sidewalk and say, "Hey, you look brilliant! Please come work for me in my small, independent bookstore. I'll pay you $16 an hour. And we're not busy all the time, so feel free to bring your typewriter to work so you can write when you don't have anything else to do. Please! Work for me!" and I'd say, "Sure dude, okay, I'll work for you."

I hate looking for jobs.

One of the jobs I'm applying for is an assistant editor job, which I like doing and I have experience at, but I kind of wanted some stupid non-computery job because my hands are hurting. I wanted to pick up garbage or make donuts or paint fire hydrants. But I guess you don't make $16 an hour doing those jobs.

But you also probably don't have to have a stellar resume, and you probably don't have to tell them your 10-year employment history.

Blargh bluficinence growiffsilisn graghhhhhhhhhh.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019