1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Sydney 3
Tuesday, February 18, 2003 - 11:21

Before Friday's show I went to a bar to meet up with a few people before the show. The people I've met have been really great. The woman who organized this pre-concert get-together must be like the coolest mom to have.

So anyway, when I got to the show and went to my seat, Eddie came out and did another of his usual pre-show solo sets. And after that, these two people who were sitting next to me asked if I was alone and if I'd swap seats with the girl. She had a seat a few rows up but wanted to sit with her boyfriend since it was Valentine's Day and stuff, and they hadn't been able to buy more than one ticket at a time. And since I'm suddenly such a nice friendly person I was all "geez, that sucks, of course I'll swap with you. Have a great time." and off I went to my new seat.

And again, since I'm suddenly such a nice friendly person, I started talking to the guy next to me. He's from Wisconsin and was travelling around Australia after graduating from college, and he decided to stay a few extra weeks to see some Pearl Jam shows. He was nice and we talked about how happy cows don't really come from California, contrary to the commercials.

Betchadupa was great, really good. I was going to buy their CD but I forgot. Eddie came out and did History Never Repeats.

Then Johnny Marr + the Healers. Have I ever mentioned how interesting I think Johnny Marr is? Oh, I have? They were good. I dig them.

And then Pearl Jam. The highlight I think was the fucking beautiful solo version of The Kids Are Alright that Ed did. And they played Alive. And Lukin. Pretty fun, pretty good crowd.

The group of people on the other side of me were really into it, but kept leaving and calling people on their cell phones. Damn annoying.

So that was Friday. It was really cool to go to all three Sydney shows.

Also, I was starving throughout the whole third show and then afterwards went to Happy Jack's and had a gross chicken sandwich that I couldn't finish. I've been doing that, being starving, but then not able to finish eating anything. Weird.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019