1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Plane tickets and jury duty
Friday, November 29, 2002 - 12:17

It's Buy Nothing Day, and so far I've spent $1444.35.

$1444.10 was for a plane ticket to Australia and back and for a student ID card, and $.25 was for a feminine hygiene product from the vending machine in my friendly local freptology department bathroom.

I don't think those purchases really go against Buy Nothing Day, so I won't feel bad about it.

Now I have to get a visa and figure out where I'm going to stay and how I'm going to get from city to city. I might do this, which was recommended by the travel agent, but if it's too peppy or undergrad or something then I won't. Also I don't exactly understand how it works yet.

Here's where I have to be and when: I have to be in Brisbane on Feb. 8, and I have to be in Sydney on the 13th. If the guy I'm buying that ticket from flakes, then I'll have to be in Sydney on the 14th. Then Adelaide on the 16th, and Melbourne on the 18th through the 20th. I'm flying into Brisbane on the 6th (leaving here the 4th) and flying out of Melbourne on the 22nd. The returning flight will take -5 hours.

No one really cares about the details but me, I know. But too bad.

Oh oh oh! Wensday in class we were talking about jury duty, and out of the 8 people in the class, 3 have been up for jury duty this quarter. The jury system in the state of California is on steroids. And then I got home that night and found a fucking summons for me AGAIN, with tentative reporting date Dec. 18, which is the very day we were planning to leave here. So I'll have to get it postponed AGAIN. I've been calling the jury people to get it postponed today, but the biotches there aren't answering.

I just know that I'll get the next one at the end of January.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019