1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

When I was 16, part 1
Monday, August 27, 2001 - 11:39 a.m.

I got my first job at a fast food restaurant in May of my sophomore year of high school. The first day I had to work was Mother's Day. The owner told me to "go in" at 4. I assumed that I'd be trained for a couple hours and then go home, but no, I had to work a full shift until like 9:30 that night.

It was horrible. We were really busy and I didn't know what I was doing. Even worse, I could hear the wind outside through the drive-through monitor. I wanted more than anything to be outside in the wind. I felt like a wild animal that had been trapped. I didn't want to work. I wanted to be a free, unfettered, irresponsible kid again.

It sucked. I hated it.

But I was overreacting, of course, and the job turned out to be pretty fun.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019