1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Saturday, Jan. 20, 2024 - 11:55

The weather: the bitter cold, which came and went, which dried everything out and made it nice and tidy - cold squeaky snow, icy air, cold manifested into something physical and sticky. It warmed up into the teens (above zero!) and it had never felt so warm, and then it snowed quite a bit and reminded us that the teens aren't *actually* warm, and the snow was the nicest, driest, lightest snow you've ever seen. I could have taken more of that - so pleasant, so beautiful, so warm, still nice and dry and clean. Today it's raining and everything is still frozen, so the raindrops falling from the sky instantly turn into ice upon landing. The streets are dirty, the alleys are dirty. It's another nice stage of weather, I suppose, but messy.

So, weirdly, I miss that super cold weather.

I have these fleeting ideas of how I'll spend a Saturday - I'll dust, I'll arrange books on the bookshelves, I'll put my plants back into their regular non-cold-snap locations. We'll go for a long walk. I'll sweep. Maybe a couple of these things will actually happen but maybe they won't. I stayed in bed until 10 this morning. It's fine. The bed was warm and comfortable.

I got new waterproof running shoes. I still don't know what I want to do this year. Try to get back to something? Or forge something new? I'm doing yoga every day this month and I've thought about doing that again next month, just to see what happens.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Sunday, Feb. 11, 2024
- - Saturday, Feb. 03, 2024
- - Saturday, Jan. 27, 2024
- - Friday, Jan. 26, 2024
- - Wednesday, Jan. 24, 2024