1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Jul. 25, 2021 - 15:52

As of two days ago I'm having some major ambivalence about my current career. Maybe this has been brought on just by my having to teach this week, I don't know. I work for a huge corporation and I don't know if I want to work for a huge corporation. I do "cloud" stuff and it is not lost upon me that what I'm doing is actually nothing at all - if we were to lose power, all of my work would go *poof*. It's not useful to anyone other than other huge corporations. Ugh.

It's a summer weekend and I'd be outside, but it's hot and smoky (still) and I probably need to be doing some last-minute preparation for tomorrow and the rest of this week, like going through the slides and figuring out what the crap I'm going to say for each slide.

I also don't know if I'm supposed to be ready at 8 a.m. tomorrow or if don't need to join until some point later than that.

I'm on PTO for a week starting on Friday which I will be so ready for. I have been working on setting up a drip line system so that I can be gone for a few days and not come back to dead plants. One part of it is hooked into the underground sprinklers, and I think I've got that all set up and running, just need to add lines to a few more plants. But I'm adding another separate zone and need to figure out the timing for it - should I buy another 1-zone timer, or should I buy a 2-zone timer? I guess it depends on what I can find at Ace or Home Depot.

It's getting back up into the upper 90s this week, after a reprieve of low- to mid-90s for the last bit. So upper 90s again, with smoke from far away as well as local. Super gross, and sad, and I can't wait to have some time off.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 10, 2021
- - Monday, Aug. 09, 2021
- - Saturday, Aug. 07, 2021
- - Sunday, Aug. 01, 2021
- - Friday, Jul. 30, 2021