1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Tuesday, Jul. 20, 2021 - 09:48

In between projects at work, I decide to make the most of this down time and schedule a doctor's appointment, call for a hair appointment, order things I've needed, post an extra lawnmower on craigslist. But, in between projects at work, my manager asks if I'll teach the first week of the next training session next week. I reluctantly agree - goddamn opportunity - and am now left having to make multiple phone calls to reschedule the things I had so optimistically scheduled. Time, where does it go? Soon enough August will be nearly over and, with it, summer.

So here I am looking at someone else's slides and trying to figure out what to say about them, to 40-something people for 6-7 hours a day for four days next week. And really what I'm most worried about is how to teach online - I've never done that before. How does it work? How will I show slides and then gracefully switch to a web browser for the hands-on practice? And then gracefully switch back to the slides without messing up the presentation? And how will I be camera ready by 8 a.m.? - That's the real question. I will have to be out of bed well before 7:58. (Last week I luxuriously stayed in bed until 8:10 just because I could.)

I hate these great opportunities - I never seek them out, and I feel very put-upon when they come around. But I also know what it's like to not get any opportunities, to sit there and feel like you're stagnating. So although I hate this, I know that I'll be glad to have done it when it's over. Also raises and promotions are coming up and this only bodes well for me. So...

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Monday, Aug. 09, 2021
- - Saturday, Aug. 07, 2021
- - Sunday, Aug. 01, 2021
- - Friday, Jul. 30, 2021
- - Sunday, Jul. 25, 2021