1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Thursday, Mar. 18, 2021 - 14:16

I ran a 10K this morning without my dog. I've run 5 days in a row this week, all with him, until today. It's so nice out and all he wants to do now is dawdle, which is incompatible with running.

I'm about to pull the trigger on the leather sectional sofa. It's ridiculous, but why not? I haven't found anything else I'd like, and this can be arranged however you want, and it'll last much longer than the two years (or six months) that I'm seeing people complain about in reviews of all the other sofas I've looked at. And the sooner I buy it, the sooner it can make it to the delivery hub two hours away where it will sit for a month like my bedroom furniture has. So I better get crackin.

I got stock tanks to put next to my house, for flowers and whatnot - petunias, wave petunias, coleus, whatever else strikes my fancy. I'm about to go dig my fenceline beds even though I haven't decided on the edging/liners for those - I'll want something to protect the fence, for one thing. And I think next to the driveway I might just plant three Christmas trees of varying heights that can be harvested and replanted one by one. I think it would look good, and it would be practical.

Anyway, as I was running this morning, alone for the first time in a long time, trying to do a 10K in a respectable time, I thought about this past year and where I'm at today - how I had maybe plateaued in my fitness, lifting and running and biking and yoga and HIIT throughout the week, muscles, able to run whatever I wanted to run whenever I wanted to, able to get up hills easily, but not improving anymore. All of that is lost now. You can take a few weeks off and not suffer any consequences from it, but you can't take an entire year off. I've lost my muscles, I've lost my cardiovascular fitness, I've lost my speed, so I'm starting off again from a pretty low level - which also means I'm seeing improvements again, because I'd gotten to a point where I wasn't improving anymore. I'm seeing improvements again and it's gratifying. Now, after a few weeks of running up the steep hill near my house, I don't have to stop at the top to catch my breath. After a few weeks of running multiple days in the week, my feet don't need a couple days to recover. I won't get my upper body strength or core strength back until I specifically start working at those, and that won't happen until I join a gym again - but maybe in a few months, when we're all vaccinated and I feel more comfortable being around people again, I'll be able to do that.

Ordered the couch. Hope it gets here soon. Also gonna start digging up the dumb sprinkler system in the yard - it's not deep enough and all the heads need to be replaced. I'm pretty excited that it's spring.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Thursday, Apr. 15, 2021
- - Wednesday, Apr. 14, 2021
- - Monday, Apr. 12, 2021
- - Monday, Apr. 05, 2021
- - Monday, Mar. 29, 2021