1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Monday, Nov. 11, 2019 - 18:33

Oh man, we had so much pre-work to do for the training that starts tomorrow and I, as usual, had been procrastinating a few weeks ago because I had tons of time and it couldn't be all that important anyway right? But then a week ago or so I reread the email with the training links and saw that it was "very important" that we finish the pre-work so shit, I had to cram, and the estimated time to complete everything was very high. It was very bleak. And here I am one day before class starts and I've still got 9 hours of pre-work to do and I can only do it for an hour or two at a time before my eyes start to cramp and my brain stops absorbing things.

If there's one thing I've learned during this training it is is the importance of following instructions. And so I was halfway through the final module, 9 hours to go, and I vaguely remembered seeing something in the email to us about this next topic I had to do, so I went back to the email and yes! It said to stop halfway through the final module! So I'm done! With so many hours left before bedtime, even!

This lack of procrastination on my part isn't my fault, of course, but I'll take it. I'll clean up tonight - I've got all my crap from 12 years of my job back here. I had a locker there full of work shoes, and all those work shoes had to move back here, so my shoe inventory has doubled in size. And there's no place to keep them, so they're all just tossed down in the entryway. Etc. All this stuff from work.

We start at 8:00 tomorrow and they said to get there early, so... normally I'd show up on the first day at 7:59 and consider myself early but that's not the kind of "early" that they're talking about.

In weather news: yesterday it was nice, sunny, 50 degrees. I spent hours on this pre-work and then finally got my dog ready to go for a hike before I went back to the office for a couple hours to finish up - and it started hailing on us as we were getting into the car. And it hailed. And I thought it was passing, so we parked by the dog park. But it wasn't passing, it was the winter front just blowing in. Two and a half hours later when I left my old job it was 30 degrees colder and the ground was iced over and there was snow and the wind had been blowing its head off. So - I don't think winter is back but it's been chilly again.

Okay, well, I'll get on with it then.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Friday, Nov. 22, 2019
- - Monday, Nov. 18, 2019
- - Sunday, Nov. 17, 2019
Day two - Wednesday, Nov. 13, 2019
First day - Tuesday, Nov. 12, 2019