1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8


2008-04-21 - 14:59

Last week was such a long week - the weekend was just as long. It was such a long weekend I couldn't remember how to load letterhead into the printer this morning. It was such a long weekend I came back to work to a long and vicious to-do-ASAP list and couldn't remember what the fuck was going on. Compounding the problems, I'm sitting here daydreaming like a moron.

For anyone who cares to know, my days are filled with awesomeness - running groups and races and cultural events around town, work, music, laundry, gardening, meeting up with friends. My parents don't care to know - they talk about what's going on with them and I try to pipe in with my stuff and they say, huh, good, and then go on talking about their things.

Did I tell you about that guy who came through town last Sunday? He called me and I didn't answer because I knew it was him and I didn't want to hang out with him. He was the paralegal who would walk by my desk at the law firm 10 times a day for no reason at all. He never talked to me, just walked by with his head held high. After he introduced himself and I had no idea who he was, I felt some kind of obligation to be nice to him - the poor bastard liked me so I had to be gracious - and that pissed me off and made it so I couldn't even be civil at him.

So almost two years after I left Seattle and that job he called me on his way through town. I'd been forewarned by the friend who gave him my number. I didn't answer, hoping he'd drive on to the next town before I could call him back, which is exactly what happened. "Are you still in town?" No, he'd driven on. He'd kicked around the idea of staying, he said, and now he was "filled with regret". He said it with such dramatics. "Oh," he said, "I am filled with regret." Ugh, I said, because really. Call me on your way back, I said politely. "Oh, I definitely will," he said.

But that was forever ago and I'd nearly forgotten the entire incident. When he calls on his way back I won't answer again - I'm planning to be out of town.

Meanwhile, two states away, someone's mother-in-law-in-law is trying to set us up - she's been working on this since last Fourth of July. Fourth of July? - Ha, it'll never get here, it's snowing right now.

Normally my attentions are drawn to guys younger than me. Guys my age look so much older - am I the freak of nature or are they? Anyway. Today I am filled with thoughts of someone's amazing eyes, hidden behind glasses and bad haircuts throughout high school.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019