1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

self-diagnoses, ignored; plus: writing contest
2008-03-24 - 17:56

I have achilles tendonitis - this is a self-diagnosis but probably right. That's what started hurting suddenly during the half marathon last month. I am obstinately optimistic and/or willingly ignorant about my physical health and so I did nothing about it then. Except for taking a couple weeks off. Which was the right thing to do, considering. But I did it because I'm lazy, not because I was resting my achilles tendonitis, which I keep spelling as 'tendonities'. (N.B. Perhaps the preferred spelling is 'tendinitis' but what kind of sense does that make when you're talking about inflammation of the freaking tendon, huh? Not much. And so I persist with the 'tendonitis', and I hope everyone else does as well.)

It started hurting again muchly on Sunday and so now it's anti-inflammatories, ice, a lift in the heel of my shoes. (Ha - one of the recommendations to treat this is to wear high heels.) Hopefully it will be better by Wednesday's running group, during which I will only do the route that the half marathoners are supposed to do - forget those stinking marathoners. And then I'll ice my legs and take more anti-inflammatories. We don't have yoga this week, which is good because all that downward dogging aggravates it. Hopefully by the 10K on Saturday I'll be fine. And then I'll ice my legs some more after that and take more anti-inflammatories etc. Sunday I'm probably not going to get up for the running group - besides the 10K Saturday morning, I'll have sisters in town and a big concert Saturday night etc.

In similar news, my exercise-induced asthma wasn't induced this weekend, so now I'm pretending it never was. I don't have a doctor and don't feel like spending the time to look for one and book an appointment and try to figure out my new health insurance that I've never used etc.

Writing contest: yes, do enter. 500-1000 words. I'm very interested right now in the concept of the untrustworthy narrator. But write whatever you want. Or don't, that's fine too - more time for me to worry about important things in my life.

Remind me one day to tell you about the building I work in. It's 110 years old and probably totally haunted.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019