1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

There's an ordinary world somehow I have to find
2000-12-03 - 04:41:16

Okay, so that didn't work. But I just remembered something that I haven't thought about in a few years, so here's another entry for you.

When I was a junior in high school, a kid in my class died in a skiing accident. He was the first person my age that I knew that died, and it was really hard to come to terms with.

The day after he died, I heard the song "Ordinary World" by Duran Duran on the radio for the first time, and it made me feel so weird because that was exactly how I felt. Death is really hard to accept because it's such a change. Everything is different. And you just want things to go back to the way they were before, to the ordinary world.

I remember praying to God to bring my friend back to life, but God wouldn't. And eventually, life without my friend became ordinary.

I thought about him and death constantly for about two years after that, and I still think about him occasionally now, eight years later.

And, of course, whenever I hear "Ordinary World," I remember exactly how I felt when I first heard it.

(Actually I think the song is about a break up, but oh well.)

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019